Monday, 23 March 2015

Civil Disobedience Movement

Civil Disobedience Movement (1930 - 1931)

  1. Gandhiji s demand to Lord Irwin (present viceroy) in the form of 11 points ( includes abolition of salt tax).
  2. Gandhiji s statement evoked no response from the government.
  3. The next way is civil disobediance, including non payement of tax.
  4. Gandhiji plan to initiate the campain by breaking the salt law.  
  5. Gandhiji march from sabarmathi asram to dandti with 71 members form march  12 to april 6 (24 days) - Salt Sathyagraha.
  6. In Tamil Nadu, C Rajagopalachari led salt march from Tirchurappali to Vedaraniyam (Tanjore).
  7. In kerala,  K Kelappan led salt march from kozhikode to payanur.
  8. Gandhiji was arrested in may 5, his place was taken up by Abbas Tayabji.
  9. He too was arrested and that place was taken up by Sarojini Naidu.
  10. Another significant feature of this movement was the participation of women and teenagers.


Belazy L said...

Good Attempt

Nick said...

Post a Comment